It’s the Little Things That Count: Social Media Thus Far

I’m a big believer of the idea that it’s the little things in life that change your way of thinking. This is the idea I portrayed in my bachelor of fine arts thesis my senior year. Having grown up in a couple different places, I was always astounded by the niche differences between cultures. It was those everyday aspects of life that made people question their own culture, rather than any overarching differences that are normally studied.

I’m getting to the point, I promise.

In this class we have read countless articles, blog postings, and books to mold the way we think about social media. Though every single one of them was insightful and shaped my social media palette, I found it were the smaller, less significant details, found in the readings and said in class, that forced me to look differently upon this online world we live in. Those facts really demonstrate to us the unique aspect of the current state of online media, and it’s those facts that I have found myself repeating to countless co-workers, family members, and friends to illustrate my points.

Here is my list of 5 details that stood out to me:

1. The mesothelioma myth. I often use Google AdWords to promote my events, and even I tend to get upset when I am forced to bid over $1 for a keyword. Learning about the highest paying keywords – and the reason for them – really put into perspective how I use AdWords, how Google is profiting from them, and the system’s overall ingenuity. (On an unrelated note, stay tuned for my next blog, creatively titled: On Mesothelioma: Your First Source for Mesothelioma, Meosthelioma Attorneys, Mesothelioma Lawyers and Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma)

2. Google Trends = coolest shit ever. I was blown away by the concentrated searches of Hillary/Obama around the time and location of the primaries. I have no idea why I never before played around with this application. The idea is ingenious and applicable to so many topics in the online marketing world. It gives us an opportunity to support your pitches with hard data, which is sometimes a very difficult thing to do in this field.

3. Linking is your sourcing. I started to understand blog writing and developing your voice, but I never grasped the importance of linking. Garrett had two pieces of advice. For one, linking is your sourcing. Unlike articles or books that may use footnotes or citations, in the same capacity blogs use links. Whenever I refer to something that is not explicitly described in my own blog, I should link it. After that class, I started noticing how linking was appropriately used in the blogs I read. I also began to link more in my own blogs. That brings me to the next tip: a blog should have between 10-20 links. That initially sounded like a lot, but understanding the purpose of linking, it now makes sense.

4. Twitter got it wrong. I have spent countless hours arguing with people about the merits of social media, in particular Twitter. Everyone’s response is “I don’t give a sh*t what people ate for breakfast.” You know what, me neither, and I don’t follow those people. But how do I explain the positive aspects of this program? Well, Garrett simplified my argument when he said “Twitter got it wrong – (and I must admit I held my breath with an ear out, eager to hear what was coming next) – The little box up top that said ‘What are you doing?’ should have said ‘What are you thinking?’” That was it, right then and there. Twitter is an effective forum to share thoughts, not to announce your inane daily tasks. And once you understand that, it becomes an entirely different entity with purpose. One people can value and to which relate.

5. Promise/Tool/Bargain. Ok, this is more than a small “detail” in our class. It is an overarching theme that we address daily – class, work, projects, writing, and in our own searches. It has become the lens through which I view and critique every marketing endeavor I encounter. It is the approach I take when problem-solving one of my own campaigns. It has become a crucial aspect of my own professional career.

Leave a Reply

